East-Central Europe and Russia

ECER Programme covers eight countries:

  • Russia
  • Belarus
  • Moldova
  • Georgia
  • Poland
  • Latvia
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine

The Programme is expected to generate outcomes in three areas essential to media development: media independence, media professionalism and media literacy. Focus is set on supporting media management as a means to strengthen media independence as well as enhance the quality of journalism.

In the beginning of the Programmme a number of common challenges and problems were identified together with the partner organisations. Despite the differences in political and economic context, the challenges described by the partners were remarkably similar. Cross-regional cooperation provides an important platform for experience and best praxis (as well as failures) exchange among countries with the same “point of departure”.

Creating conditions for professional, multifaceted and ethical journalism in the Eastern Europe is one of the cornerstones in the process of re-building trust and credibility for the media in the region.